Help & Resource Center
Follow

Authorive vs. Authorize & Capture

Overview

When using Authorize.net's Payment Gateway you have two options at checkout.  This help page will explain each and also explain how each affects the integration.

 

Authorize Only

When "authorize only" is selected, the shopper's credit card is pre-authorized for the transaction.  This means:

  • The shopper's credit card information is verified.  The verification includes the billing zip code, the credit card number, expiration and security code and that the shopper has the funds available for purchase.
  • The amount of the order is held or authorized for purchase against the shopper's line of credit or bank account.  The hold will be in place for 29 days, 23 hours and 59 minutes.
  • The shopper's card is not charged.  Depending on their financial institution's practices and the type of account, the amount of the order may not be available for use within the shopper's bank/credit card account.
  • When the order is invoiced during order fulfillment the funds are captured and the order is sent to your POS system via the integration.

Authorize and Capture

  • The same verification steps happen when this setting is chosen. 
  • The shopper's credit card information is verified.  The verification includes the billing zip code, the credit card number, expiration and security code and that the shopper has the funds available for purchase.
  • The shopper's credit card or bank account is charged for their purchase.
  • This means the order has been invoiced at checkout and that the order will be sent to the POS system before order fulfillment happens.

As a best practice, Modern Retail recommends that clients authorize only at checkout.  Consumers should be charged/invoiced (or the funds captured) when the order is ready to be shipped.

 

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments