Help & Resource Center
Follow

Managing/Adding Users in Wordpress

Overview

WordPress allows you to add or remove users from WordPress, giving you control over who has access to your site.

Adding a New User

Adding a User in WordPress is simple.  Follow these steps:

  1. Log into WordPress
  2. Click on USERS in the left hand navigation
  3. Click Add New

You will then need to fill in the required information, choose a password for them, check the box "Send this password to the new user by email" and select the role you wish to give them using the dropdown.  Your new user will get their password in the email with instructions on log in.  Once logged in they can change their password and any other info (except their username) by editing their profile.

 

Choosing the User's Role

There are 9 roles in the drop-down but most likely you will assign a user one of the following roles:

  • Account Owner: This role is reserved for a site's owner and gives them full access except for the ability to switch themes, unfiltered HTML, updating the core, updating plugins, updating themes and WooCommerce webhooks.  NOTE: Experienced Account Owners can have these features added to their user role on a case by case basis.
  • Store Administrator:  Store Administrators have the same privileges as an Account Owner, except they cannot activate or edit plugins or change/manage WooCommerce Settings.
  • Shop Managers: These users have further limitations, focusing their user access on Products & Order fulfillment as well as some content editing.
  • Customers: For WooCommerce clients, any shopper who creates an account for later use is automatically assigned the role of "Customer".  The only thing these users can do is read posts/content.
  • Editor - An editor can view, edit, publish and delete any posts/pages, moderate comments, manage categories, tags, links and upload files.
  • Author - An author can edit, publish and delete only their postsThis is the perfect role to assign users who will only be blogging on your site.
  • Contributor - A contributor can edit their posts but cannot publish them.  When a contributor creates a post, it will need to be submitted to an administrator for review.  Once a contributor's post is approved and published the contributor can not longer edit their post.

Most users will be either a Store Administrator or Shop Manager:

Changing User Role

As an Administrator of a site, you have the ability to change other users' role or delete users all together. 

To change their roll follow these steps:

  1. Go to Users > All Users in your WordPress dashboard
  2. Check the box(ex) next to the user
  3. Using Change roll to.... dropdown menu, select the new user role(s) you want to assign
  4. Click Change

Deleting a User

To delete a user simply go to all users, hover over their name and click delete

Editing Your Profile

To edit your profile simply click on users > then your name.  The two main items you will want to edit your profile are the following:

Change your Password

 

Display name publicly as..

By default your user name is what's displayed publicly but if you'd like to change it you can easily add a nickname and then from the drop down choose which name you'd like to appear.  (The name you choose is what shows when you post a blog).

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments